Join the SJB Book Club!

JOIN THE SJB BOOK CLUB!

Hello all Book Club Readers!

Here are the books that we will be reading in the next upcoming months! For those of you who are so busy, please remember this is not a monthly commitment. You do not have to attend regularly, just when YOU want! So, pick a book that you like, put the date on your calendar, and have a good read. If you don’t finish the book, join us anyway to see how it ends. If you don’t even read the book, but still want to join us for a meal – that sounds great too! We’d love you to join us!

A few additional things to keep in mind:

  • Not all the books we read are “Catholic or even Christian” related. This book club was started under the Fellowship Committee, so it was originally intended to be a social/fellowship event to bring people together.

  • We GENERALLY meet the 4th Mondays of each month.

  • Car-pooling is available from the St. John’s Church parking lot, leaving at 6:00 pm.

  • We rotate turns in choosing the monthly books and restaurant choices.

  • An RSVP e-mail will be sent to you before the discussion date. This determines how many will be car-pooling and how many to make restaurant reservations for.

On an additional note regarding our DECEMBER book club discussion:

The votes were very mixed. Some wanted to meet – others didn’t. So, we decided to do a “shorter Christmas themed” book. As always, this will be completely optional whether you want to participate this month or not. Jackie Wolf has most graciously offered to choose a book for us. No date has been scheduled yet. Let’s plan on discussing further at an upcoming discussion. I’ll keep you updated as to the name of book, and the discussion date and location.


Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Date: Monday, August 26, 2019

Location: TBD

Chosen by: Jackie Dymit

#1 New York Times Bestseller

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.


And finally, listed are the books (and their summaries) that we will be reading from September - November 2019. So do not delete this e-mail. As you will notice, the tentative dates are already posted. Where we will meet is stated or is TBD.


Beartown by Fredrik Backman

Date: Monday, September 23, 2019

Location: TBD

Chosen by: Mary Oldenburg

THIS IS PART OF A BOOK CLUB KIT. I WILL BE BRINGING 10 COPIES ALONG TO THE AUGUST DISCUSSION. IF YOU DO NOT ATTEND THE AUGUST DISCUSSION BUT WOULD LIKE A COPY OF THE BOOK, PLEASE CHECK WITH THE LIBRARY ON/AFTER WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 28TH.

AFTER YOU FINISH YOUR COPY, PLEASE RETURN THE BOOK TO THE LIBRARY, SO IT BECOMES AVAILABLE FOR ANOTHER PERSON. THANK YOU!

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY: LibraryReads • BookBrowse • Goodreads

“You’ll love this engrossing novel.” —People

The bestselling author of A Man Called Ove returns with a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream—and the price required to make it come true.

People say Beartown is finished. A tiny community nestled deep in the forest, it is slowly losing ground to the ever-encroaching trees. But down by the lake stands an old ice rink, built generations ago by the working men who founded this town. And in that ice rink is the reason people in Beartown believe tomorrow will be better than today. Their junior ice hockey team is about to compete in the national semi-finals, and they actually have a shot at winning. All the hopes and dreams of this place now rest on the shoulders of a handful of teenage boys.

Being responsible for the hopes of an entire town is a heavy burden, and the semi-final match is the catalyst for a violent act that will leave a young girl traumatized and a town in turmoil. Accusations are made and, like ripples on a pond, they travel through all of Beartown, leaving no resident unaffected.

Beartown explores the hopes that bring a small community together, the secrets that tear it apart, and the courage it takes for an individual to go against the grain. In this story of a small forest town, Fredrik Backman has found the entire world.


The Gone Dead by Chanelle Benz

Date: Monday, October 28, 2019

Location: TBD

Chosen by: Judy Dean

A TONIGHT SHOW SUMMER READS FINALIST

An electrifying first novel from "a riveting new voice in American fiction" (George Saunders): A young woman returns to her childhood home in the American South and uncovers secrets about her father's life and death

Billie James' inheritance isn't much: a little money and a shack in the Mississippi Delta. The house once belonged to her father, a renowned black poet who died unexpectedly when Billie was four years old. Though Billie was there when the accident happened, she has no memory of that day—and she hasn't been back to the South since.

Thirty years later, Billie returns but her father's home is unnervingly secluded: her only neighbors are the McGees, the family whose history has been entangled with hers since the days of slavery. As Billie encounters the locals, she hears a strange rumor: that she herself went missing on the day her father died. As the mystery intensifies, she finds out that this forgotten piece of her past could put her in danger.

Inventive, gritty, and openhearted, The Gone Dead is an astonishing debut novel about race, justice, and memory that lays bare the long-concealed wounds of a family and a country.


The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick

Date: Monday, November 25, 2019

Location: TBD

Chosen by: Deb Atneosen

"Phaedra Patrick understands the soul. Eccentric, charming, and wise…The Curious Charms is not just for those who are mourning over love or the past. This book will illuminate your heart." — Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

Don’t miss this curiously charming debut! In this hauntingly beautiful story of love, loneliness and self-discovery, an endearing widower embarks on a life-changing adventure.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden.

But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam’s death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam’s possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he’s never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife’s secret life before they met—a journey that leads him to find hope, healing and self-discovery in the most unexpected places.

Featuring an unforgettable cast of characters with big hearts and irresistible flaws, The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper is a joyous celebration of life’s infinite possibilities.

More Praise:

"Tender, insightful, and surprising… [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain’s The Red Notebook." — Library Journal, starred review

Look for Phaedra Patrick’s latest perfectly charming read, Rise and Shine, Benedict Stone, out now!

We hope some of them sound very enticing to you! If you haven’t been to a discussion before, we encourage you to just give it a try. Happy Reading and we hopefully will see you at one or more of our upcoming discussions!

Blessing to you all!

Mary Pekarna at 492-2753 or marypekarna@gmail.com


PS: If you know of any additional friends who would like to be added to this e-mail or if anyone wants to be deleted, please let me know! Thanks!

Father Neil Bakker